Reflection ~ Silence is Golden

nature...

Silence is a source of great strength ~ Leo Tolstoy
Silence is a true friend who never betrays ~ Confucius
Silence is one of the great arts of conversation ~ Cicero

I treasure moments of silence and solitude ~ doing absolutely nothing, thinking nothing, resisting nothing, expressing self to self. Through these moments we can experience varying degrees of enlightenment; also known as self-realization. It has no boundaries of religion, culture, race, age or gender. It is for every individual soul to achieve for themselves.

“Enlightenment is the normal, natural state of health for the body and mind. It results from the full development of consciousness and depends upon the perfect and harmonious functioning of every part of the body and nervous system. When one is using the full potential of the mind and body in this way, every thought and action is spontaneously correct and life-supporting. This is life free from suffering, life lived in its full stature and significance.” ~ Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

During my career as a mental health counselor, I typically had my clients engagement in meditation and self-reflection. This was done in complete silence with no input from me. This allowed the client an opportunity to come up with meaningful solutions to their own problems. The end results were always better, more effective because it reached because it is tailored to the individual.

~~~~~~~~~

My journey towards greater enlightenment is at its infancy stages. I have a lot of questions and research to do. I am at peace with that fact. I am encouraged knowing that I can obtain greater awareness by simply allowing myself to detach from everything that surrounds me ~ work, family, friends.  To just simply sit and focus on absolutely nothing. Through my silence I am able to recognize where I am creating situations of stress and discomfort.

By no means is this an easy process. There are times where I cannot achieve the level of silence and solitude that is needed to see what I need to see. I am just beginning but I do understand the necessity of being able to release from everyday life.

I want to experience that inner calmness, that quiet state of least excitation, even when I am extremely busy.

Bliss consciousness…

~~~~~~~~~

Sincerely yours.

-Robin

Leave a Reply

See What You Missed

